Latest topics
» Sunday 2nd April - Goyt Valley
by -Caz- Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:50 am

» Hartington - Sunday 4th March
by Linda R Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:36 pm

» Edale - Sunday 22nd January
by Linda R Sun Jan 22, 2017 2:38 am

» Castleton - Sunday 18th December
by Steve M Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:59 pm

» Bamford and Hathersage - Sunday 27th November 2016
by Linda R Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:09 am

» Linacre Woods - Sunday 30th October 2016
by Village Owl Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:42 pm

» Tissington - Sunday 25th September
by Steve M Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:44 am

» Chesterfield Canal - Sunday 21st August
by Steve M Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:27 am

» Millers Dale - Sunday 24th July
by Steve M Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:35 am

November 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


Getting a postcode from a Grip Map Reference

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Getting a postcode from a Grip Map Reference

Post  colin R on Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:41 pm

bounce
This is ideal for anyone using a sat nav to get to a start of a walk where the info shown is only a grid reference:

Go to [Only admins are allowed to see this link]

As a example type in The search box Sk266800 then click go

You will then see a map with an arrow pointing to the location! At the bottom of the page you will see a link that says "Click here to convert coordinates" this will then display ain a new window with text showing the nearest post code.

Hope this info is helpful to some of you.

The down side to this that you can still be a mile away from the start bounce
avatar
colin R

Posts : 107
Join date : 2012-08-20

View user profile http://www.cbpianotuner.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Getting a postcode from a Grip Map Reference

Post  Steve M on Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:09 am

So it's good news and bad news lol. I've always said that a satnav should be used as an aid to finding somewhere, and not just as the be all and end all. It'll certainly be useful for finding a postcode when advertising a walk. Thanks a lot Colin for the info.
avatar
Steve M

Posts : 1349
Join date : 2012-08-11
Location : Norwood

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum